more options

Particle Theory Seminars

Fall 2010

Date Speaker Institution Title
Mon 3:30pm Aug 23 Matthias Neubert Mainz Drell-Yan production at small q_T, generalized parton distributions and the collinear anomaly
Fri Aug 27      
Wed Sep 1      
Fri Sep 3 David Curtin and Bibhushan Shakya Cornell Highlights from Summer Conferences
Wed Sep 8 Joao P. Silva Lisboa Symmetries in two-Higgs-doublet models(pdf)
Fri Sep 10 Yang Zhang Cornell Introduction to modern methods on scattering amplitudes(pdf)
Wed Sep 15 Kai Wang IPMU Inverse seesaw in supersymmetry (pdf)
Fri Sep 17 Jing Shao Syracuse Mass measurement in boosted decay chains with missing energy(pdf)
Wed Sep 22 Nathaniel Craig Rutgers Axion-assisted electroweak baryogenesis (pdf)
Fri Sep 24 Shmuel Nussinov Tel Aviv U. Gluon gluball duality
Wed Sep 29 Felix Yu Irvine A New Method for Resolving Combinatorial Ambiguities at Hadron Colliders
Fri Oct 1 Dan Pirjol J.P.Morgan Interest rate models for physicists
Informal lecture series Mon Oct 4, 10-11am Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Introduction to scattering amplitudes I
Messanger lecture Mon Oct 4, 7-8pm Schwartz Auditorium Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Setting the stage: Space-time and Quantum Mechanics (link)
Informal lecture series Tue Oct 5, 10-11am Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Introduction to scattering amplitudes II
Messanger lecture Tue Oct 5, 5-6pm Schwartz Auditorium Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Our ``Standard Models" of particle physics and cosmology, and their discontents (link)
Informal lecture series Wed Oct 6, 10-11am Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Introduction to scattering amplitudes III
Relativity lunch Wed Oct 6, 12.30am, Space Sciences building Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Don't modify gravity - understand it!
Messanger lecture Wed Oct 6, 5-6pm Schwartz Auditorium Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Space-time is doomed; what replaces it? (link)
Informal lecture series Thu Oct 7, 10-11am Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Introduction to scattering amplitudes IV
Messanger lecture Thu Oct 7, 5-6pm Schwartz Auditorium Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Why is there a macroscopic universe? (link)
Informal lecture series Fri Oct 8, 12.30am Nima Arkani Hamed IAS Introduction to scattering amplitudes V
Messanger lecture Fri Oct 8, 5-6pm Schwartz Auditorium Nima Arkani Hamed IAS A new golden age of experiments: what we might know by 2020? (link)
Fri Oct 8 --- --- Fall Break
Wed Oct 13 David Kagan Columbia Conifunneling - Stringy Tunneling Between Flux Vacua (ppt)
Fri Oct 15 Zvi Lipkin Weizmann Heavy quark hadrons and exotics, a challenge for QCD
Wed Oct 20 Jesse Thaler MIT Aspects of Goldstini (blackboard)
Fri Oct 22 David Curtin Cornell Solving the gaugino mass problem in Direct Gauge Mediation (pdf)  
Wed Oct 27 David Kaplan Washington U. Conformality Lost
Fri Oct 29 Ami Katz Boston U. CFT/AdS (pdf)
Wed Nov 3 Enrico Pajer Cornell Striped holographic superonductor (pdf)
Fri Nov 5 Kuver Sinha Texas A&M The Cosmological Moduli Problem and Non-thermal Histories of the Universe (pdf)
Wed Nov 10 Sven Krippendorf Cambridge Particle Physics from local D-brane models at toric singularities
Fri Nov 12 Vikram Rentala IPMU & Berkeley An interesting angle at the LHC
Wed Nov 17 Louis Leblond Perimeter Loops and Resummation Techniques in Inflation (blackboard)
Wed Nov 17 12:15, 622 Space Sciences Sarah Shandera Perimeter New observational power from halo bias (pdf)
Fri Nov 19 Rachel Rosen Stockholm U. Phase Transitions of Charged Scalars and White Dwarf Stars (blackboard)
Tue Nov 23 John Terning UC Davis Monopoles, Anomalies, and Electroweak Symmetry Breaking (pdf)
Wed Nov 24 --- --- Thanksgiving
Fri Nov 26 --- --- Thanksgiving
Wed Dec 1 12:15, 622 Space Sciences Daan Meerburg Amsterdam Oscillations in the primordial bispectrum
Wed Dec 1 David Krohn Harvard ISR Tagging (pdf)
Fri Dec 3 --- --- Last day of classes
Wed Dec 8 Wolfgang Altmannshofer Fermilab CP Violation in Bs Mixing in Supersymmetric Models (pdf)
Fri Dec 10 David Marsh Cornell Sequestering in string compactifications
Wed Dec 15      
Fri Dec 17