Skip to content
CORNELL LABORATORY FOR ACCELERATOR-BASED SCIENCES AND EDUCATION — CLASSE

Particle Theory Seminars

Seminars are normally held in the Physical Sciences Building room 401 on Wednesdays at 2 pm and on Fridays at 12:30 pm (pizza at noon).

If there is no external speaker, the Friday seminar is used for the particle theory journal club with mostly local speakers. Click here for information to help speakers planning their trip to Ithaca. For more information please contact Paul McGuirk (mcguirk@cornell.edu), Marco Farina (mf627@cornell.edu), or Katerina Malysheva (evm23@cornell.edu).

Fall 2014

Date Speaker Institution Title
Wed Aug 27      
Fri Dec 12      
Fri Aug 29      
Wed Sep 3 Joshua Berger SLAC Coloron-assisted Leptoquarks at the LHC Poster
Fri Sep 5 Ying Lin Harvard Little String Amplitudes (and the Unreasonable Effectiveness of 6D SYM) Poster
Wed Sep 10 Shmuel Nussinov Tel Aviv University  
Thurs Sep 11 Jim Halverson KITP Note special time: Thursday 4pm
Wed Sep 17      
Fri Sep 19      
Wed Sep 24 Reserved    
Fri Sep 26      
Wed Oct 1 Timothy Cohen IAS  
Fri Oct 3 Julian Sonner MIT  
Wed Oct 8 Radovan Dermisek Indiana University  
Fri Oct 10 Yosef Nir Weizmann Institute  
Wed Oct 15 Tanumoy Mandal Harish-Chandra Institute  
Fri Oct 17      
Wed Oct 22 Anson Hook IAS  
Fri Oct 24      
Wed Oct 29 Mark Mezei Princeton  
Fri Oct 31      
Wed Nov 5 Andrew J. Larkoski MIT  
Fri Nov 7      
Wed Nov 12      
Fri Nov 14 John Kearney Fermilab  
Wed Nov 19 Aitor Lewkowycz Princeton/IAS  
Fri Nov 21 John Terning UC Davis  
Wed Nov 26 No speaker   Thanksgiving break
Fri Nov 28 No speaker   Thanksgiving break
Wed Dec 3 Christopher Beem IAS  
Fri Dec 5      
Wed Dec 10      

Spring 2014

Date Speaker Institution Title
Wed Jan 22      
Fri May 16 Matthew Reece Harvard Astrophysical Signals of Dark Matter Interactions Poster
Fri Jan 24      
Wed Jan 29      
Fri Jan 31      
Wed Feb 5      
Fri Feb 7      
Wed Feb 12 Seung J. Lee KAIST Composite Light Quarks Poster
Fri Feb 14      
Wed Feb 19 Nathaniel Craig Rutgers New Signs of Naturalness Poster
Fri Feb 21      
Wed Feb 26 Yonit Hochberg Berkeley The SIMP Miracle Poster
Fri Feb 28      
Wed Mar 5      
Fri Mar 7      
Wed Mar 12 Christoph Schmell Mainz U. Higgs Physics in Warped Extra Dimensions
Wed Mar 12 3:30pm 401 PSB Denis Klevers Penn Recent Progress on F-theory with Multiple U(1)s
Fri Mar 14 Nemanja Kaloper UC Davis Sequestering the Standard Model Vacuum Energy Poster
Wed Mar 19 Ennio Salvioni UC Davis Boosted or cascading: chasing BSM Higgses at the LHC14 Poster
Fri Mar 21 No speaker   graduate student event
Wed Mar 26      
Fri Mar 28      
Wed Apr 2 No speaker   Spring break
Fri Apr 4 No speaker   Spring break
Wed Apr 9 Marat Freytsis Harvard Generalized Event Shapes for Jet Substructure Poster
Fri Apr 11 Rouven Essig Stony Brook Dark Photons Slides
Wed Apr 16 Duccio Pappadopulo Berkeley Composite Higgs at Present and Future Colliders Poster
Fri Apr 18 Clara Peset U. Autonoma Barcelona On the proton radius puzzle Slides
Wed Apr 23 Claudia Frugiuele Fermilab Fermion Hierarchy from sFermion Anarchy Poster
Fri Apr 25 Timm Wrase Stanford Mathieu Moonshine and its Implications for Physics Poster
Wed Apr 30 Leonard Susskind Stanford Computational Complexity and Black Hole Horizons Poster
Fri May 2      
Wed May 7 Martin Bauer U. of Chicago Scale Invariance, Radiative Symmetry Breaking and Dark Matter Poster
Fri May 9 Mario Martone Cornell U. Understanding S-confining in 3D Poster
Wed May 14 Raffaele Tito D'Agnolo IAS Constraints on Axion Dark Matter from Big Bang Nucleosynthesis Poster


Archive of previous seminars are available.